[et_pb_section fullwidth=”off” specialty=”on” background_color=”#e5eaff” inner_shadow=”off” parallax=”off” parallax_method=”css”][et_pb_column type=”1_4″][et_pb_image admin_label=”Image Gold Cup” src=”” show_in_lightbox=”off” url_new_window=”off” animation=”left” /][et_pb_text admin_label=”Text” background_layout=”light” text_orientation=”center”]

The Gold Cup


Timeline of Winners


[/et_pb_text][/et_pb_column][et_pb_column type=”3_4″ specialty_columns=”3″][et_pb_row_inner][et_pb_column_inner type=”4_4″][et_pb_text admin_label=”Text About Header” background_layout=”light” text_orientation=”left”]

About the Gold Cup

[/et_pb_text][et_pb_image admin_label=”Image About” src=”” show_in_lightbox=”off” url_new_window=”off” animation=”left” /][et_pb_text admin_label=”Text About” background_layout=”light” text_orientation=”left”]

The world’s top four men and women single scullers will descend on Philadelphia to compete for The Gold Cup at the Head of the Schuylkill Regatta to be held on October 25, 2014. The Gold Cup is the most storied race in Philadelphia’s rich rowing history and one of the most exciting rowing competitions outside of the Olympics.  The Gold Cup event will be a “sprint” race, approximately 750 meters in length.  The shorter length of the Gold Cup races will make for close competition and exciting finishes. The race will take place in the middle four lanes of the Schuylkill River, near iconic Boathouse Row. Prize money of $10,000 will be awarded to the Champion; $5,000 for second place, $2,500 for third place and $1,000 for fourth place. A Gold Cup medal will be given to each winner.

The Philadelphia Gold Challenge Cup event, otherwise known as “The Gold Cup,” began in 1920, during the heyday of Philadelphia rowing.  The event pitted the best amateur male single scullers in the world against each other in a sprint race on the famed Schuylkill River course. The contest, and the cup, disappeared in the early 1960s, only to reemerge in 2011 after a 50-year hiatus, with the expansion of the competition to women. Iztok Čop (Slovenia) and Mirka Knapkova (Czech Republic) claimed victory, and both went on to earn medals in the 2012 Olympic Games in London.